If every current NBA player returned to the team he was drafted by, what would each team’s starting lineup be?

Wizards v/s Thunder 03/14/11

Since the 2018 free agency period began on July 1, the balance of power has continued to shift further from East to West. With LeBron James’ move from Cleveland to LA, the Western conference now contains all seven of the league’s active MVP winners. The juggernaut of the NBA, Golden State, added yet another all-star to their already-legendary roster. The Warriors could potentially start five all-stars, as well as feature a former all star/NBA Finals MVP off the bench in Andre Iguodala.

DeMarcus Cousins’ move to the Bay Area tilts the table even more in favor of the Warriors than it already was. These two significant free agency moves got me thinking: What would the league look like if every active NBA player had to play for the team that drafted him? What would the league look like if there was no free agency? Would the balance of power be spread more evenly?

Listed below I put together potential starting lineups for each NBA team, given that each team consists only of players that were originally drafted into the organization.

Atlanta Hawks

Jeff Teague PG (2009)

Luka Doncic SG (2018)

Kelly Oubre Jr. SF (2015)

John Collins PF (2017)

Al Horford C (2007)

Boston Celtics

Terry Rozier PG (2015)

Marcus Smart SG (2014)

Jaylen Brown SF (2016)

Jayson Tatum SF (2017)

Robert Williams C (2018)

Brooklyn Nets

Jordan Crawford PG (2010)

Kyle Korver SG (2003)

Kyle Kuzma SF (2017)

Derrick Favors PF (2010)

Brook Lopez C (2008)

Charlotte Hornets

Kemba Walker PG (2011)

Malik Monk SG (2017)

Tobias Harris SF (2011)

Michael Kidd-Gilchrist PF (2012)

Cody Zeller C (2013)

Chicago Bulls

Derrick Rose PG (2008)

Jimmy Butler SG (2011)

Gary Harris SG (2014)

LaMarcus Aldridge PF (2006)

Jusuf Nurkic C (2014)

Cleveland Cavaliers

Kyrie Irving PG (2011)

Andrew Wiggins SG (2014)

LeBron James SF (2003)

Jae Crowder SF (2012)

Tristan Thompson C (2011)

Dallas Mavericks

Dennis Smith Jr. PG (2017)

Trae Young PG (2018)

Justin Anderson SF (2015)

Kelly Olynyk PF (2014)

Mike Muscala C (2013)

Denver Nuggets

Jamal Murray PG (2016)

Donovan Mitchell SG (2017)

Carmelo Anthony SF (2003)

Rudy Gobert C (2013)

Nikola Jokic C (2015)

Detroit Pistons

Brandon Knight PG (2011)

Kentavious Caldwell-Pope SG (2013)

Khris Middleton SF (2012)

Greg Monroe PF (2010)

Andre Drummond C (2012)

Golden State Warriors

Stephen Curry PG (2009)

Klay Thompson SG (2011)

Harrison Barnes SF (2012)

Draymond Green PF (2012)

Kevon Looney PF (2015)

Houston Rockets

Dillon Brooks PG (2017)

Nicolas Batum SG (2008)

Nikola Mirotic SF (2014)

Marcus Morris PF (2011)

Clint Capela C (2014)

Indiana Pacers

Aaron Holiday PG (2018)

Lance Stephenson SG (2010)

Paul George SF (2010)

Kawhi Leonard SF (2011)

Myles Turner C (2015)

Los Angeles Clippers

Shaun Livingston PG (2004)

Eric Gordon SG (2008)

Miles Bridges SF (2018)

Blake Griffin PF (2010)

DeAndre Jordan C (2008)

Los Angeles Lakers

Lonzo Ball PG (2017)

D’Angelo Russell PG (2015)

Brandon Ingram SF (2016)

Julius Randle PF (2014)

Marc Gasol C (2008)

Memphis Grizzlies

Kyle Lowry PG (2006)

Mike Conley Jr. PG (2007)

DeMarre Carroll SF (2009)

Jaren Jackson Jr. PF (2018)

Kevin Love C (2008)

Miami Heat

Dwyane Wade SG (2003)

Josh Richardson SG (2015)

Michael Beasley SF (2008)

Justise Winslow SF (2015)

Bam Adebayo C (2017)

Milwaukee Bucks

Malcolm Brogdon PG (2016)

Giannis Antetokounmpo SF (2013)

Jabari Parker SF (2014)

Dirk Nowitzki PF (1998)

Thon Maker C (2016)

Minnesota Timberwolves

Ricky Rubio PG (2009)

Andre Roberson SG (2013)

Zach LaVine SG (2014)

Lauri Markkanen PF (2017)

Karl-Anthony Towns C (2015)

New Orleans Pelicans

Chris Paul PG (2005)

Austin Rivers SG (2012)

JR Smith SG (2004)

Anthony Davis C (2012)

Nerlens Noel C (2014)

New York Knicks

Frank Ntilikina PG (2017)

Tim Hardaway Jr. SG (2013)

Trevor Ariza SF (2004)

Danilo Gallinari SF (2008)

Kristaps Porzingis PF (2015)

Oklahoma City Thunder

Russell Westbrook PG (2008)

Eric Bledsoe PG (2010)

James Harden SG (2009)

Kevin Durant SF (2007)

Steven Adams C (2013)

Orlando Magic

Victor Oladipo PG (2013)

JJ Redick SG (2006)

Dario Saric SF (2016)

Aaron Gordon PF (2014)

Mohamed Bamba C (2018)

Philadelphia 76ers

Ben Simmons PG (2016)

Lou Williams SG (2005)

Jrue Holiday SG (2009)

Andre Iguodala SF (2004)

Joel Embiid C (2014)

Phoenix Suns

Rajon Rondo PG (2006)

Devin Booker SG (2015)

Josh Jackson SF (2017)

Markieff Morris PF (2011)

DeAndre Ayton C (2018)

Portland Trail Blazers

Damian Lillard PG (2012)

Will Barton SG (2012)

CJ McCollum SG (2013)

Rondae Hollis-Jefferson PF (2015)

Harry Giles C (2017)

Sacramento Kings

Isaiah Thomas PG (2011)

De’Aaron Fox PG (2017)

Marvin Bagley III PF (2018)

DeMarcus Cousins C (2010)

Hassan Whiteside C (2010)

San Antonio Spurs

Goran Dragic PG (2008)

Dejounte Murray PG (2016)

Derrick White PG (2017)

Lonnie Walker IV SG (2018)

Ian Mahinmi C (2007)

Toronto Raptors

Delon Wright PG (2015)

DeMar DeRozan SG (2009)

PJ Tucker SF (2006)

Ed Davis PF (2010)

Jonas Valanciunas C (2012)

Utah Jazz

Dante Exum PG (2014)

Josh Hart SG (2017)

Gordon Hayward SF (2010)

Paul Millsap PF (2006)

Enes Kanter C (2011)

Washington Wizards

John Wall PG (2010)

Nick Young SG (2007)

Bradley Beal SG (2012)

Otto Porter Jr. SF (2013)

JaVale McGee C (2008)


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: