Indian Wells Seeds: Djokovic, Osaka Headline Elite Field at the Desert

ATP Tour and WTA’s world number one players Novak Djokovic and Naomi Osaka will try to continue adding another achievement in their already stellar 2019 season as they headline this year’s seeds at the BNP by Paribas Open, at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden, on March 6.

Djokovic, fresh from winning his 15th Grand Slam title at the Australian Open last year, will try to win his record-tying 33rd Masters 1000’s title while Osaka comes back at the desert to defend her first ever Premier Mandatory trophy.

Both Djokovic and Osaka will be seeded first in the men’s and women’s singles, respectively, to lead the cast of competing players from both tours.

2017 Champion Roger Federer, who just won his 100th title at Dubai last Sunday, is seeded fourth after last year’s winner Juan Martin del Potro withrew due to an ailing foot injury.

Three-time champion Rafael Nadal, Sasha Zverev, and South Africa’s Kevin Anderson wrap up the top five seeds at Indian Wells.

On the other hand, joining Osaka at the top five of the women’s side are former world number one Simona Halep, reigning Australian Open runner-up Petra Kvitova, 2017 US Open champion Sloane Stephens, and Karolina Pliskova.

Serena Williams, meanwhile, will be seeded tenth for the first time since her maternity leave after returning to the Top 10 last week after almost two years.

The draw ceremonies for women’s singles will be held on Monday, March 4, while the men’s singles will be held on Tuesday, March 5

FULL SEEDS: Men’s Singles

1. Novak Djokovic
2. Rafael Nadal
3. Alexander Zverev
4. Roger Federer
5. Kevin Anderson
6. Kei Nishikori
7. Dominic Thiem
8. John Isner
9. Stefanos Tsitsipas
10. Marin Cilic
11. Borna Coric
12. Karen Khachanov
13. Milos Raonic
14. Daniil Medvedev
15. Marco Cecchinato
16. Fabio Fognini
17. Nikola Basilashvili
18. Gael Monfils
19. Pablo Carreño Busta
20. David Goffin
21. Roberto Bautista-Agut
22. Kyle Edmund
23. Alex de Minaur
24. Denis Shapovalov
25. Diego Schwartzman
26. Grigor Dimitrov
27. Giles Simon
28. Lucas Pouille
29. Mario Fucsovics
30. Laslo Djere
31. Nick Kyrgios
32. Guido Pella

FULL SEEDS: Women’s Singles

1. Naomi Osaka
2. Simona Halep
3. Petra Kvitova
4. Sloane Stephens
5. Karolina Pliskova
6. Elina Svitolina
7. Kiki Bertens
8. Angelique Kerber
9. Aryna Sabalenka
10. Serena Williams
11. Anastasija Sevastova
12. Ash Barty
13. Caroline Wozniacki
14. Daria Kasatkina
15. Julia Goerges
16. Elise Mertens
17. Madison Keys
18. Qiang Wang
19. Caroline Garcia
20. Garbiñe Muguruza
21. Ana Kontaveit
22. Jelena Ostapenko
23. Belinda Bencic
24. Carla Suaréz Navarro
25. Danielle Collins
26. Donna Vekic
27. Su Wei Hsieh
28. Laura Tsurenko
29. Mihaela Buzarnescu
30. Amanda Pavlyuchenkova
31. Sonya Kenin
32. Aliaksandra Sasnovich


Leave a Reply